Evergreen Indiana Annual Meeting May 6, 2011 Plainfield: Primo West Conference Center Minutes

Present at the Meeting: executive committee members: Kelly Ehinger (Adams Public Library), Kristi Harms (Jefferson County Public Library), Krista Ledbetter (Morgan County Public Library), Marsha Lynn (Odon Winkelpleck Public Library), Karen Niemeyer (Thorntown Public Library), Mary Rueff (Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Public Library), Nick Schenkel (West Lafayette Public Library); Non-voting members present: Shauna Borger (Indiana State Library), Jim Corridan (Indiana State Library); Other representatives as listed in addendum.

The 2011 Annual Meeting of Evergreen Indiana was called to order by Chair Ms. Kristi Harms at 1:10.

The minutes of the May 11, 2010 annual meeting were approved as modified – spelling corrections for Harms, Schenkel, and Rueff – on a motion by Ms. Alexis Caudell (Mitchell) and second by Ms. Jill Scarborough (Brazill). (all in favor)

The Osgood Public Library, Ripley County, was approved as a new member on a motion by Ms. Kelly Ehinger and second by Mr. Nick Schenkel. (all in favor)

Ms. Borger presented the election results for the three 7/2011-6/2014 terms: Montie Manning, Director, Alexandria-Monroe Public Library (Class C); Marz Z. Rueff, Associate Director of Public and Technical Services, Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Public Library (Class B); and Andrea Ingmire, Director, Greensburg Public Library (Class A).

Chair Ms. Harms opened up discussion of any topics or issues the membership would like to discuss. Below are the topics raised during the question/answer period:

- Acquisitions / Serials training: ISL trainers are developing training and will launch training sessions for acquisitions and serials by the fall.
- Self-check: a general question about the number of libraries using self-check was answered by a show of hands. About one-tenth of those present are currently using self-check.
- MaRC records for Overdrive materials: the executive committee had no firm answer about whether we could or should include MaRC records in the catalog for books purchased through Overdrive. The process of cataloging them – who would be responsible for the initial record, who would update, who would delete as needed – is something of a concern. The Cataloging committee has discussed this issue. Comments on the issue would be appreciated.
- Unserved & a standardized non-resident fee: A representative from Butler Public Library, DeKalb County, urged a move toward elimination of unserved areas and discussed the difficulty many Evergreen libraries experience when local area residents use their library after shopping for a less expensive Evergreen card. Indiana State Library's Mr. Corridan answered by urging libraries to contact their representatives. A discussion of the possibility of legislation requiring township contracts to be equal to the total of non-resident fee multiplied by the township population.

- Reciprocal borrowers: ISL will implement use of a blue "reciprocal" card such as the ISL reciprocal card.
- Standard 3 week borrowing period: an Evergreen member library requested more time and opportunity for input when the consortium discusses major changes such as a move to a standard three week borrowing period for books. Though this issue was discussed by the circulation committee, brought to the executive committee and sent back to the circulation committee to poll the membership, a better way of communicating these issues was discussed.
- Debit cards / fine reporting: The state library reported that about 40 more resolutions from libraries were required before this could be implemented.

Mr. Corridan recognized Chair Harms for her work in the Evergreen Indiana consortium and most recently as Chair. A certificate of appreciation was presented to Harms by secretary Ms. Ehinger.

The meeting was adjourned by Chair Harms at 1:40 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Kelly Ehinger, Secretary